Which Bookies Pay First Past The Post?
Did you know that the rules that online bookmakers use to settle bets can vary, depending on the bookie you use? In this article, we’ll look at a list of which bookies pay first past the post on horse racing.
We’ll also explain exactly what this means, and how it can benefit you. If you’re not sure whether this matters or not, we can tell you now that it most certainly does! So make sure you read on to find out why…
List Of Bookies That Pay First Past The Post
|RaceBets||Pays First Past The Post on UK, Irish & UAE races, on win bets placed on day of race|
|skyBET||Pays First Past The Post on UK & International races, on win bets placed on day of race|
|Paddy Power||Paddy Power Double Result Pays First Past The Post on UK & Irish racing, on win or place bets placed on day of race|
So now you know which bookies pay first past the post. Now we’ll take a look at what this actually means, and how it can help you make more money from horse racing.
What Does First Past The Post Mean?
Most horse racing bookmakers pay out your bets based on the official result. However, sometimes horses can be disqualified. That means that your horse could cross the finish line first, but not be awarded the race. And therefore, your bet would lose.
When a bookie pays first past the post, you’re protected from that. They pay you as a winner if your horse crosses the line first, even if it is then disqualified. But they also pay out on the horse that is awarded the race in the official result. That means you win either way. It also means that if you backed both horses, you could potentially win the same race twice!
Hopefully you can see why this is so important. Because if your bookie doesn’t offer it, you’ll end up missing out on a lot of winners over the course of a season!
So now you know which bookies pay first past the post, make sure you’re betting with one of them in future.
Which Bets Qualify?
In general the following rules apply:
- Win, place or each way bets all qualify, but bets must be placed on the day of the race. Ante-Post bets would not qualify.
- Horses that are disqualified because they failed to ‘weigh in’ correctly do not qualify.
- Horses that are disqualified because they have taken the ‘wrong course’ do not qualify.
The table above shows which online bookmakers offer first past the post, and on which markets. These general terms may vary depending on the bookie, so always check their terms and conditions first. Additionally, some sites also extend the offer to tote, forecast and tricast bets.
Which Bookies Pay First Past The Post on Greyhounds?
In general, greyhound races are settled slightly differently. The winner is settled on the official result announced at the conclusion of the greyhound race. If a winner is disqualified after the official result is announced, the disqualification will not affect the settlement of bets.